In-Laws!

So we went to the boyfriend’s sister’s house the other day – she’s just had a baby girl so we went to visit and to take a little gift for her.

I can’t say I dislike her but I can’t say I like her either – it’s just very difficult. I don’t feel welcome or comfortable, and here’s why:

  • We’ve been together just over 2 and a half years and she’s never made an effort to chat to me, unless it’s to complain about her life or her vast array of psycho exes!
  • She reminds me, regularly, that her three older children “hate” me – because “Uncle R&R never sees them anymore, since he got with you” – he used to live next door to them, they moved away, that’s why they don’t see him as much! She’s actually told me that she tells them, “Well, he’s got a girlfriend now, he hasn’t got time to play with you” – no mention of him starting university and moving 10 miles away with no ability to drive!!
  • On at least 4 occasions (including the first time I met them, and just the other day) the kids have brought up my boyfriend’s exes – “Hey Uncle R&R, didn’t you used to have a girlfriend called Amy?” – This neice only ever met Amy once, for around an hour, at least 4 years ago, when she was only aged 5 or younger… There’s no way she’d remember this and so it must be a regular conversation piece… She’s also quite often called me by an ex’s name, even after being told what my name is – I know this is a child, maybe not specifically his sister’s fault but still, she should speak to her!

Anyway, I guess I just wanted to rant…

I get on really well with his other sister and his Mum, even his drug-dependant, schizophrenic brother!!

You can’t win them all I guess!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

