September 11th

So today is the 10 year anniversary of the tragedy that has become known simply as, “9/11”.

Here’s my story… Hope I don’t offend anyone, just giving you a 12 year old’s view.

A decade ago, I was at school – I was in year 8 and had French class that day – learning about colours and animals, specifically, a purple bird!

I got home from school and my Mum was at her friend’s house, this wasn’t unusual, I had my own key but as I was walking home with my friend anyway (Mum’s friend’s daughter) we just went down to her house.

When we got there, our mums were glued to the TV, which was set to the SKY News channel – usually it was depressing old ballads on the Magic music channel so we asked what they were watching.

Remember that I was 12…

They told us that an aeroplane had gone into the Twin Towers… this meant absolutely nothing to me! I didn’t know what the Twin Towers were, where they were and why it was such a big deal… Mum explained something about terrorists and bombs and that hundreds of people were killed.

Still, it didn’t really mean that much to me, except that when my friend and I had to nip up to my house, we were terrified that a plane would fly over us and we’d be “goners”.

All week we were scared that our school would be bombed, especially D Block, where I had maths, English and music classes, because it was really tall (not really, but for a 12 year old, anything with 3 floors is huge!)

Needless to say, I understand the tragedy now – I don’t understand why it happened, I just understand the enormity of it.

So that’s where I was, 10 years ago today.

I thank the Lord for those heroes who risked their lives to help the victims and I pray that they will never be forgotten.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

