OMG It’s Christmas

So I was watching a TV show last week, I believe it was Suburgatory, which is an American sitcom… It was the Christmas episode, so unsurprisingly, there were a lot of Christmas-related events… One of which was a “tree-trimming party” which, by the way, is awesome and if I weren’t so OCD about things being done to my standard, I would totally do that!

Anyway, at the end of the show there was a song that went something along the lines of “Oh my God, it’s Christmas!”

Now, forgive me if I am wrong here but that unashamed act of blasphemy is really one of the worst instances I have ever seen! I’d go as far as to say that it seemed almost paradoxical!

Let me elaborate…

Christmas, the day that we celebrate the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ, who is God in human form. So basically, we are celebrating the decision that Almighty God made, to save our souls by sending His Son to be tortured and murdered in cold blood, that we might have eternal life…

And then, to use His name in vain in front of that celebration just seems strange and disgusting to me!

The “OMG” phrase in general offends me. It has become just a phrase, much like “LOL” or “dear me”, which people use in day-to-day life without even thinking.

I sincerely hope that one day, we can remember the true meaning of Christmas – the priceless gift that even Mastercard couldn’t pay for!

I hope that we can remove the OMG phrase from our vocabularies, unless we are using it for it’s original meaning, when we are in turmoil and begging for His guidance and assistance, when we are speaking with Him and not just because so-and-so just told you that her friend’s cousin’s next-door-neighbour’s sister has just found her husband cheating with the milkman!

I just thought I’d share

~R&R

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

