Happy New Year?

So I guess that most of you will be out, partying the night (and indeed, the year,) away in great style!

Me? I’m sat at home with a coffee and watching the Lakers basketball game on ESPN (they’re up by two, 49-47 against Denver)

I just can’t be bothered with going out any day of the year, not least new year’s eve!

Where I live (and it’s going to sound pretty ghetto, I warn you,) to go out around town, one must dress the part, meaning crotch-skimming, body-con dresses in some garish coloured polyester, straight from a market stall, along with bare legs and seven-inch platform heels in, dare I say it, PVC (mainly the girls)!

Not only that, but there are certain rules one must observe on said nights out:

  1. The bigger the hair, the better (boys and girls)
  2. The more orange the skin, the better (boys and girls)
  3. The more cleavage on show, the better (believe it or not, boys and girls, though for the boys, there doesn’t tend to be much “cleavage”, just a very low V-necked tee !)
  4. Drinks are to NEVER be left unattended (general common sense really)
  5. One must NEVER look at another person who is not in the same party, unless they want their faces smashed into the pavement!

Now, as you can probably gather, I am slightly cynical of this entire “clubbing-crowd”.  I don’t really fit in with them and they’re not my kind of people… Although saying that, no one is really my kind of people!

Number 5 is a personal peeve of mine – Why should I have to walk around staring at the ground all night?! I mean, sure, my shoes are pretty, I might have paid a lot of money for them, but I’m not a living adaptation of an “A Day in the Life of My Left and Right Foot” movie!

I have a tendency to stare. It’s not intentional and therefore, it isn’t done in malice. I totally phase out and people think I’m staring at them when in fact, I’m looking right through or past them and am in some kind of quasi-epileptic daze! I mean, really, why on earth would someone just assume that their face is so interesting that I must be staring at it?!

So I don’t really go out – I don’t enjoy it. I don’t drink. I don’t like people. I don’t like the music they play (note: I loosely call it music for ease of reading, but that’s a whole nother rant!)

So I’m spending NYE 2011 in my room with Mr R&R, probably going to make popcorn and watch a movie, and if I’m asleep by midnight, so be it – I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else in the world!

On that note, I’ll see you all next year, and I hope that you have a wonderful 2012!!

Love,

~R&R

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

