Three Years, Baby!

So it was our three year anniversary on  Tuesday and so I thought I’d share with you our little story…

We knew each other at school. I must have been around 13 and he was around 15. We were kind of friends but not really – My best friend was going out with one of his friends so we were kind of in the same friendship circle but at opposite ends, if that makes sense.

Anyway, he disappeared after Christmas of his final year but to be honest, and this is pretty bad, I don’t think I actually realised – he never really hung out with us that much anyway, he was a bit too aloof. It was only after we re-met that I discovered he’d moved to America for a while.

Fast forward seven years and I saw him on a train and texted my friend, the same one from school, to say something along the lines of, “Guess who’s sat in front of me on the train…” – just a blast from the past kind of thing; I didn’t even speak to him.

A couple of months later I was chatting to the friend on Facebook, and she casually mentioned that she was chatting to him online too. I sent him a friend request, and she even had to tell me his name as I only knew him by his nickname! I sent a message with my request, something like, “Hey, remember me? I always said that you and [the friend] ought to have babies! :)” That was a bit of an in-joke between me and her, which he didn’t have a clue about – I’m surprised he accepted me, I must have seemed a right wierdo!

Now, I’m a bit of a loser and I’m not too scared to say what I think, so when he wasn’t accepting my friend request right away, even though I knew he was online because she was chatting to him, I told my friend to tell him to accept it, dammit! And when he did, I said, “Well it’s about time!” – apparently he was playing online poker with some friends.

I had just come out of a terrible relationship and wasn’t looking to fall in love, but that’s exactly what happened! We chatted on Facebook for a little while before moving over to MSN, which was just more user-friendly, and then, after a few hours of easy conversation, he called me and we were on the phone for a few more hours. He asked if he could take me out sometime and a couple of days later we were debating over which movie we should go see.

I had never even been on a date before and was terrified. This wasn’t just a date either, this was a reunion of sorts and now, we fondly recall how we “re-met”. We had an amazing first date and after the movie (a horror, obviously, so I could hide in his chest!) we stayed to chat before going for the last train. When we reached his stop, we weren’t quite ready to end the date so we carried on to the next town and just walked around, chatting. My friends were at home worried about me as I forgot to keep them updated – they’d never met him and were looking on his Facebook profile to see if he looked like a mad axe mudererer!

Our second date was a movie night at his place – we watched The Little Rascals, a children’s movie and it was great! We’ve been inseparable ever since and I joke that we’ve probably been together for seven years in normal dating patterns, where couples might see each other once or twice a week to begin with!

So that’s the story of me and Mr R&R!

I hope you enjoyed it! Maybe someday I’ll continue…

~R&R

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

