A Classic, Ruined

Well, I know it’s been a while since I last blogged (is that a word?!) but I don’t have an excuse – I’m just lazy and I kind of didn’t have anything to say!

So I went to the cinema on Friday to see the new Woman in Black movie with Daniel Radcliffe (AKA Harry Potter). In all honesty I was kind of dreading it anyway but I had to go and see how it was.

Let me explain my point of view. I took Drama at both GCSE and A Level and so the theatre is an important part of my life. I love film, don’t get me wrong, but The Woman in black in particular was such a huge part of my life. I saw it for the first time during my GCSE Drama days, we had to do our coursework on it and it’s the reason I love theatre so much!

The theatre production is amazing, there’s literally only two actors on a plain stage with a coat stand and a big wicker basket and that’s just about all there is. There’s no scenic backdrop and no elaborate costuming – it’s so empty and almost bland. This is one of the reasons I loved it so much! It didn’t need the amazing scenery, costumes or all-star cast; the story spoke for itself. The use of mime and gesture was amazing, with just a few sound effects the audience were cativated and felt as thought they were right there in the thick of it. I sought it out a couple of years ago so that I could take Mr R&R on our anniversary (he took GCSE Drama too and saw the play a few years before me). It was just as riveting and I was scared out of my wits!

As you’ll know if you regularly read my blog, I don’t adapt too well to change and I’m a bit of a traditionalist, so when I saw the trailer for the movie, I was frowning so much I’ll probably need botox!

We sat down for the first showing (opening day, first show of the day) and I foolishly expected the theatre to be just about empty at 11.30am on a Friday but it was practically jam-packed! We had been talking to some guys dressed in Star Wars costumes in the foyer (I did the Star Trek hand signal thing – he wasn’t impressed!) and so we didn’t get the optimum seats, so we were already off to a bad start!

Anyway, the movie started and within 30 seconds I was ready to walk out. I felt sick with dread, which is a bit of an extreme reaction, in honesty, and the opening scene had nothing at all to do with the original story that I knew.

I feel that I ought to put a spoiler alert, but I wouldn’t recommend anyone going to see it, so I won’t.

There were three little girls playing with dolls and having a tea party. They randomly stopped and jumped out of the window – the frown line started.

The movie progressed a little bit and I though I’d give it a chance to redeem itself. But then, there was a scene where Kipps was having dinner with Sam Daily and his wife (another pointless character) and she started “channelling” her dead son and carved a hanging woman into the table with a knife – the frown line gets deeper.

Kipps is in Eel Marsh House and is feeling uneasy. He can’t open the door to one of the rooms, fair enough, I’m liking the camera angles and stuff and think, “ooh, they’re going back to the story”, but then he looks through the window and all the dead children from Crythin Gifford are in the garden, looking at him! Pair this up with the Woman being in the basement of Jerome’s office when Lucy sets herself on fire and the frown line is starting to engulf my face!

When Elizabeth (Sam Daily’s wife) talks to Kipps in the graveyard and starts saying, in a child’s voice, “she made us do it” (or something to that effect) I couldn’t stand it any longer and walked out.

I was distraught. I was trembling with anger and I felt like crying. A story which was such an important part of my life, that gave me goosebumps and made me passionate about drama, had been ruined and turned into nothing more than a generic supernatural “horror” movie like Darkness Falls or something!

So I don’t know how it ended, and to be honest, I don’t care – I wish I’d never seen it because now, I have to go to London to see the play again, ASAP, to try to erase this horrific tragedy from my memory. AND!! I think I need botox now. Thanks. I’m only 23!!

I’m really sorry to be such an old moaner, it just really upset me!

~R&R

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Classic, Ruined

  1. I think I’m going to read the book now… And after reading the synopsis on Wikipedia, I’m so glad I walked out! The ending sounds as though it could have been plucked right out of Lovely Bones (and not in a good way!)

  2. They said the stage play for awesome, i think i would rather catch the play than the film.

  3. Oh definitely, the play wins every day! No matter ho many times you see it, it never gets old and it’s just as scary as the first time! Such theatrical genius, which simply can’t be captured on film!

Leave a Reply

